Achieving Better Results with Behavioral Interviewing

How do I ensure I make the right hire? How do I differentiate one great candidate from the others? How do I determine whether they will fit in with my team?

Scholley BubenikDoes this sound familiar? For those of us, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our selection and hiring results. And in my pursuit of “finding the best hire”, I was introduced to behavioral interviewing.

Behavioral interviewing is a method of questioning that requires the respondent to answer with a story of how they handled a specific circumstance. It’s designed to get the candidate to reveal how they responded to a real life work situation so we can understand how they might respond to a similar situation if they were hired.

As a result, predicting what someone will do on job becomes more accurate and determines their potential for success. Behavioral interviewing is a skill that you develop over time, by utilizing profound levels of listening, intuition and interpretation.

I recently presented at WILCO HR on this topic to a group of Human Resource Managers and Directors enticing them with my behavioral based interviews and rapid fire method. I was amazed at the number of people in the audience. What I learned was that the crucial question, “How do I make the right hire?” is very prevalent among HR and recruiting professionals. So I can only image how it must feel from a hiring manger’s perspective.

If you want better results with your recruiting, contact me at sbubenik@premierhrsolutions.net. I would welcome an opportunity to share my insight on how you can incorporate this strategy with successful results in selecting the “Right Hire” for your company.

Leave a Reply

